One Taste Too Many (Excerpt)

One Taste Too Many is the first book in the Kensington’s Sarah Blair mystery series (2019)

By Debra H. Goldstein

Sarah sighed. Her sister was the queen of avoidance. “RahRah and I are staying out of your way so you can do your Julia Child/Rachael Ray thing.” RahRah jumped up onto her shoulder and draped himself around the back of Sarah’s neck. “So are you going to tell me what happened tonight?”

“I wish I knew,” Emily muttered from back in the depths of the refrigerator. “Even though it’s too early for him to know anything for sure, Peter said Bill apparently ate a forkful of rhubarb crisp that killed him.”

“That doesn’t prove Bill was murdered.”

“I agree. Besides, if rhubarb crisp is what killed him, it couldn’t have been mine. It would have had to be someone else’s. You know as well as I do, Bill never touched my rhubarb crisp because I always use nuts in the recipe.”

“Don’t worry. I’ll tell Peter the same thing. After all, I was married to Bill for enough years to know which of your recipes he wouldn’t go near.”

“Thanks. I hope you don’t have to vouch for me.” Emily leaned against the now-closed refrigerator and used her free hand to tuck an escaping strand of blond hair back under her towel turban.

“To tell you the truth, I have a bad feeling about this,” Emily said. “The way Peter looked at me when I told him about someone else being in the Civic Center was like he was humoring me. I’m telling you, he believes I killed Bill. . . .”

Debra Goldstein

Debra Goldstein is a judge, author, litigator, wife, step-mom, mother of twins, and civic volunteer. Her writings are equally diverse. She is the author of Kensington Press’ Sarah Blair mystery series. Sarah, like Debra, is a cook of convenience who might be scorched if she gets too close to a kitchen. One Taste Too Many, the first book in the series was published in January 2019. The second book, Two Bites Too Many, was released in October 2019. The third book, Three Treats Too Many, came out in August 2020. She recently inked the deal for books four and five, which will appear in 2021 and 2022. Visit her website at:

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.